Make your Journey count

Take everyday as a new beginning.  When you wake up, take a few minutes to think about what you want to have happen today.  Be grateful for the chance to start all over and do things better today than you did yesterday.

Reflect on what happen yesterday but don’t let it define you.  Let it go and know that things today will be better than yesterday.  Take responsibility for your choices and know that you made them for a reason.  We all make choices based on two things.  Love and Fear.  Don’t allow fear to keep you from doing things.

I believe that we spend the first 10 to 12 years of our lives looking to others for everything.  We are also taught to listen to our parents, our teachers and everyone else who looks after us.  When we reach our teenage years, we rebel thinking that we know how to do things and want to be able to try to take responsibility for our lives.  We get push back.  I feel that is where we are considered rebellious teens.  I believe that when the kids reach that age, we as parents then see how well we did at parenting.  The way our kids behave in the world is a great reflection of how we parented.  I know I will probably get feedback that I might not like, but we all have our own opinions and everyone should be allowed to have one.

I grew up in a to be seen and not heard environment and I chose to allow my kids to express their opinions.  Yes I might not have agreed with it but they should be allowed to have them.  I valued their opinion and let them know that much.  I gave my kids respect and they gave me respect in return.  I wanted to give my kids the best headstart that I could.  Did I always, probably not, but parenting does not come with an instruction manual.  You kind of flying by the seat of your pants and hope for the best.

The greatest joy I get everyday is seeing my kids achieve their dreams and I know that I am making my journey count but seeing them achieve. Until next time.

About allisonturenchalk931

Night Dispatcher three days a week from home. An Independent Distributor for Sisel International and Kaffe. I also retired from my job with the local School District after many years. View all posts by allisonturenchalk931

Leave a comment